State Dining Services is continually striving to improve our selection of food
offered to those with dietary needs. We are now tailoring our service to those
that have Celiac (Gluten Free), Nut Allergies, Dairy Allergies, Vegetarian,
Vegan and those that eat Halal. Please feel free to contact us with further
suggestions to help improve our service to you. We will be updating this
section as more dietary options and substitutes become available.
is a certified Kosher dairy dining establishment – the only one in Detroit! By
Kosher law, dairy and meat cannot be served at the same meal. Therefore, Gold’n’Greens
is a fully pescetarian dining facility. With many vegetarian and vegan options
every day, it’s a great option for our vegetarian diners.
Towers Café serves many vegetarian and vegan entrees as well! From
the Mongolian grill to veggie burgers available upon request, vegetarians can easily
eat at Towers Café. Look for the label below to identify customizable
vegetarian options throughout the dining hall.
item served at Towers Cafe and Gold'n'Greens is labeled with an identifier
containing nutritional information and description. If any food item being
served contains one of the common food allergies, the station will be labeled
with an additional identifier (shown below) with that information. In addition,
we will work directly with you to identify those foods you may safely consume
and ensure those foods are available to you. Please contact us at 313-577-7950.
What is Gluten?
A gluten-free diet is a diet that
excludes the protein gluten. Gluten is found in grains such as wheat, barley,
rye and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye).
A gluten-free diet is used to treat celiac disease. Gluten causes inflammation
in the small intestines of people with celiac disease. Eating a gluten-free
diet helps people with celiac disease control their signs and symptoms and
Made without Gluten Items at Towers Café
Gluten Free Bread is available
Gluten Free Noodles are available upon request
Gluten Free Salad Dressings - Raspberry Vinaigrette, Italian, Balsamic,
Soups are NOT Gluten Free
Soup without meat or Cream in the title May contain Dairy
Soups may be made with Halal meat, but still contain non-Halal meat stock
Gluten Free Made to order 7” pizza available upon request (wait time on
order approximately 15 min.)
WARNING: Cross-Contamination may occur during food preparation.